Back to catalogue

     Cantores Episcopi in Close Harmony

Cantores Episcopi 1993


David Clegg, Richard Bartlett


James Spilling, Ed Fenn-Smith, Ian Van Every


Will Townend, Francis Brett, Tony Ayres




Play a track Media Player is required.
 About this recording
Cantores Episcopi is one of the country's longest-running close-harmony groups. Based in Winchester College, its members usually go on to music or choral scholarships at the Oxford and Cambridge colleges. The group reached its 21st birthday in 1993, and that year included four young men destined to become successful professional singers. This was the group's first foray into the world of CDs.

Each Christmas since the group's foundation, it has given a concert just before the Christmas holiday at which the audience is offered mince pies baked by the members in between taking end-of-term exams. This has become known as the 'mince pies concert': this disc features a typical programme, beginning and ending with seasonal music.


 Track listing

  1   Silent Night, Gruber, arr. Richard Roberts and James Babbage
  2   Rudolph the red-nosed reindeer, arr. Richard Roberts
  3   Follow that star, Peter Gritton
  4   Dayton, Ohio - 1903, Richard Rodney Bennet
  5   There was a farmer's son, Trad, arr. Langford
  6   My Evaline, arr. hall (Yale Song Book)
  7   Over the rainbow, Harburg & Arlen, arr. Martin Pickard
  8   A foggy day, Gershwin & Gershwin, arr. Martin Pickard
  9   A whiter shade of pale, Procul Harum, arr. Edward Sykes
10   Mr Wonderful, Bock
11   It's my party, arr. Michael Simpson
12   For the longest time, Billy Joel, arr. David Clegg
13   Money, money, money, ABBA, arr. Lucas
14   Is you is? Jackson, arr. Chilcott
15   Yesterday, Lennon & McCartney, arr. Richard Bartlett

16   Eleanor Rigby, Lennon & McCartney, arr. Richard Bartlett
17   Here, there and everywhere, Lennon & McCartney, arr. Richard Bartlett
18   With a little help from my friends, Lennon & McCartney, arr. Peter Gritton
19   Jingle bells, Pierpont
20   I'm dreaming of a white Christmas, Berlin, arr. Robert Bottone

Product Code: MLRCD01

Price: 6.50

Order from Amazon